Synod Staff



Synod Council


The Synod Council is the synod’s board of directors. It functions as the interim legislative authority between meetings of the Synod Assembly.  There are a total of 16 Synod Council members, including the officers, one member elected from each of the seven Conferences, one youth member, one young adult member, two persons of color and/or primary language other than English and one Dean Representative.



Mr. Thomas Madden, Vice-President
Rev. Debi Turley, Secretary
Mr. Fred Risser, Treasurer
Rev. Aileen Robbins (Genesee Finger Lakes)
Ms. Ann Maher (Central Crossroads)
Rev. Ernie Varga (Southern Tier)
Ms. Samantha Rossi (Hudson Mohawk)
Rev. Sara Litzner (Foothills)
Ms. Sharon Hamilton (Southwestern)
Rev. Jeremiah Smith (Niagara Frontier)
Rev. Gail Wolling, Dean Representative, (Central Crossroads)


Mr. Ben Wendel (Southern Tier, Youth-at-large)

Rev. Pamela Hoh (Hudson Mohawk - PCL)

Mr. Christopher George (Niagara Frontier - PCL)

Mr. Ian Macdonald (Niagara Frontier - Young Adult)

Synod Council Meeting Minutes

SC Meeting Minutes November 3, 2018 

SC Meeting Minutes January 12, 2019