The Mutual Ministry Committee is one of the few committees that are required by the constitution (†S11.01. and †S11.04.).  It is composed of three members of the Synod Council who are selected jointing by the bishop and the Executive Committee of the Synod Council.  Constitutionally its purpose is to provide support and counsel to the bishop.  The committee also meets annually with each of the pastoral synod staff to hear their concerns, support them in their ministries, provide direction and counsel as needed, and to pray with them.